Par3golfer's Blog


Windy Weather!
December 2, 2011, 1:12 PM
Filed under: Golf | Tags: , , , , ,

Hello!

Yesterday, the temperature was warm and the sun was shining—though the wind was blowing a bit. Because golf is played in the elements, there are guidelines that address some aspects of play in the wind. Crazy things can happen in windy weather on the course, and there has to be some way to address it. And, in October of this year, at the end of a 4 year review, the USGA, working with the R&A, updated and changed several important rules– including a rule that addresses the impact of wind.

Here is the updated rule:

Ball Moving After Address (Rule 18-2b). A new exception is added which exonerates the player from penalty if their ball moves after it has been addressed when it is known or virtually certain that they did not cause the ball to move. For example, if it is a gust of wind that moves the ball after it has been addressed, there is no penalty and the ball is played from its new position.

Unfortunately for Nick Watney, these rule changes don’t take effect until January 1, 2012! Yesterday, he was caught in a situation where the old rule was applied and he was penalized a stroke. He addressed the ball, backed up, and watched it move—and was penalized one stroke. Under the new rule, the penalty stroke is NOT assessed if the wind moved the ball after the address. Taking it in stride, Watney remarked, “I might be the last player in history to be penalized under that rule. That could be a trivia question one day.”

Have a wonderful holiday season! I will catch you on the other side of the holidays.

Rick Jones

Cape May Par 3 & Driving Range

Dover Par 3 & Driving Range

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements