Par3golfer's Blog


What makes a golf instructor good?

The golf instructor can coach you. The golf instructor can educate you about YOUR golf swing and what research has proven to be effective. The bottom line is that the more you practice the right things to improve YOUR golf game, the better you will be. Feeling comfortable with and understanding a golf instructor is really important as you find instruction that works for you.

The following is a list of qualifications that will assist you in finding the right golf instructor:

  • Good communication skills; Good personality and attitude.
  • Patience.  A great golf instructor must be patient in working with you. This is essential and helps to create a ‘safe environment’ for you to try what you are learning. As Albert Einstein once said, “A person who has never made a mistake has obviously never tried anything new.”
  • Knows the universal basics—this is so important! Your  instructor must not only know the basics, but be able to communicate them      to you (Remember this from the top of the list?!)
  • Willing to help improve your golf game rather than your wallet. Expensive golf lessons are not always the best! Believe it or not, there is no standard price for golf lessons. The best thing is to find an instructor who can meet your golf AND budget needs.
  • An instructor who has a good golf swing is essential. Modeling technique is essential for effective teaching and learning. You need to be able to “see it to be it” and for this reason, your golf instructor must be technically sound. **
  • Great instructors provide personally relevant feedback. That is, they don’t offer ‘one size fits all’ suggestions and recommendations. They evaluate your swing—and tailor lessons to your individual needs.
  • Makes the learning process fun!! This is key to it all– no point in doing it, if it isn’t fun.

**NOTE: A great golf instructor may not be a great player. Just like, a good player may not be a good golf instructor.

SOOO, golfers of all levels can be mislead into believing that a golf instructor will make our golf game better. A golf instructor can help you…just like club fitting can help you. Great golf instruction is part of the solution. Don’t forget, it is the student who will make the golf instructor a good one!  Psst…that’s you!

I welcome questions and comments!!

Rick Jones

Cape May Par 3 & Driving Range

Dover Par 3 & Driving Range

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Rick,
Thanks for the info on what to look for in a good golf instructor. You did not mention whether or not the instructor should be certified. What are your thoughts?

Comment by Ron Celano

Hi Ron,

Thanks for checking the post out!

I personally do not think that an instructor needs to be certified — especailly if they come with recommendations and you already know something about them. If you were to chooose between 2 unknowns and one was certified but the other wasn’t, then choose the certified instructor. Otherwise, certifications are somewhat overrated, in my opinion.

Thanks– Rick

Comment by par3golfer

Hi Rick,
I have been a customer at you Par 3 Course / Driving Range for many, many years…but, I respectfully disagree with your assesment of not needing formal training and credentials to properly teach golf to students of any group,gender or age.
Would you hire an individual just because they have been watching “Law and Order” for years to represent you in court and they were not a licensed attorney? Hire some one to work for the school system to teach children 5th grade, just because he and his wife have a couple of kids they brought up? Or for that matter hire the neighbor down the street that repairs the plumbing in his own home, to repair the same in your house, but is not a lisenced plumber. Tell that to your insurance company, if the repairs result in water damage and a claim.
The point I make is a simple one. Anything that is payed for, including golf instruction, you should offer your customers the most first class schooled / trained & certified instructors available. And not just “self annointed” golf professionals.
Donald Smith

Comment by Donals Smith

Hi Donald,

Thank you for taking the time to respond! I appreciate that a lot. While for me, I do not think it is manditory, I do want to point out that I do have a certified instructor at the Par 3. I understand your points, and I can appreciate your perspective. I do realize that you are not alone, and that some folks think that certifications are an absolute necessity. Hense my certified pro. Like I said in my response, if you don’t know anything about an instructor, the certification is worthwhile. I just think that if you know the person, and know people who have worked with the instructor with success, that has value. I think we will have to agree to disagree on this one!

Again, thanks so much for taking the time to post.

Rick

Comment by par3golfer

Don. You must be a certified instructor by the tone of your post. I would like to see the instructor hit the ball, even better play a full round of golf. If they have a real grasp of the game nothing proves it more than seeing it.Your other comparisons of the lawyer from watching law and order or the teacher are laughable and not comparable.

Comment by Paul

I agree with Rick. I have used a certified instructure, and he was horrible. On the other hand, I took lessons from someone a friend of mine recommended, and we was great.
Know the person.

Comment by JKS

I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to
a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Comment by Chiropractor

Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of
volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.

Your blog provided us useful information to work on.
You have done a extraordinary job!

Comment by jewellery valuations

An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who had been conducting a little homework on this. And he actually bought me dinner simply because I discovered it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this topic here on your website.

Comment by jewellery valuers

Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.

Your blog provided us beneficial information to work
on. You have done a extraordinary job!

Comment by http://atlantahandy1trillas.jigsy.com/

My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different page and thought I might as well check things out.
I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking into
your web page again.

Comment by 24 hr appliance repairs

I pay a quick visit everyday some web pages and websites to read articles,
but this webpage gives feature based posts.

Comment by lose weight

It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly
donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding
your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates
and will share this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

Comment by http://hongt48hccrlveqn.webs.com/apps/blog/




Leave a Reply

